New Book About HipHop

31 10 2007

Hip-hop culture has given me too much for me not to defend its honor. I’ve spent the last year and a half of my life documenting the power in hip-hop music because it was this aspect of the culture, this unique art form that spoke to me like nothing ever before. As I’ve matured, I’ve realized that we can all learn from the culture that grew from the concrete.

So I’ve collected, extracted, and explored words of wisdom and motivational mantras in my new book, THE MESSAGE: 100 LIFE LESSONS FROM HIP-HOP’S GREATEST SONGS (Thunder’s Mouth/Running Press), which dropped October 25 and is available in bookstores and online. THE MESSAGE is named after the song performed by Grandmaster Flash and the Furious Five (”Don’t push me, cause I’m close to the edge…) which many consider to be the first commercially successful socially conscious rap song and which happens to be celebrating its 25th anniversary this year.

Full Story @ Black Voices

Actions

Information

One response

31 10 2007
7DipDip

looks interesting its about time niggas do something possitive do defend hiphop

Leave a Reply

